top of page

We are HGAS

HGAS

HGAS abbreviates 'Hochschulgruppe ausländischer StudentInnen'/ 'University Group of Foreign Students'

The HGAS represents the interests of all foreign students at the Carl von Ossietzky University of Oldenburg. Every foreign student automatically becomes a member of the HGAS through enrolment and has the opportunity to organise various events on the social, cultural and political situation of his/her home country within the framework of the HGAS.

ASV

ASV verkürzt 'Ausländischer Studierendenvertreter' / 'foreign student representative'
 

The ASV consists of elected student representatives of the HGAS who support the international community on various issues, e.g. organising events, giving legal advice, distributing important information and other general political and social matters.

visitoraddresswhite.png
Visiting Address

Raum M1 - 164

Asta Foyer

Uhlhornsweg 49 -55

26129 Oldenburg

phone.png
mail.png

HGAS - Hochschulgruppe

ausländischer StudentInnen
Carl von Ossietzky University

Oldenburg
Ammerländer Heerstraße 114-118
26129 Oldenburg

Postal Address
postwhite.png

History of the HGAS

The university group was founded one year after the foundation of the University of Oldenburg as a small foreign group that met every Wednesday of the month. In this group, foreign students from the University of Oldenburg got to know each other and talked about their problems. Together they tried to solve existing problems. In 1976, the number of foreign students totalled 33. In 1978, when there were about 90 foreign students at the University of Oldenburg, the group became more organised and committed by organising several events (political, cultural). This year, the group was able to make appointments to look after foreign fellow students due to new spatial conditions. The group helped the foreign fellow students to find accommodation, communicate with other German and foreign fellow students, obtain any one-off grants made available to the group by the University of Oldenburg and deal with the authorities at all offices. In 1980, the group was recognised as a university group and the University Group of Foreign Students (HGAS) saw itself as the interest group of all foreign students on a study-related level. The interests of the foreign students were always represented by two elected representatives, who were elected once a year and were accountable to the HGAS. In 1982, the HGAS submitted a motion to the student parliament to recognise the HGAS as an organ of the student body at the C.v.O. University of Oldenburg. Uni Ol. After lengthy and tough disputes with the MSB and SHB, who opposed the implementation of the motion despite the approval of the University Assembly on 6 May 1982, the HGAS succeeded in having itself recognised as an organ of the student body (StuPa 27 April 1983). HGAS is a very heterogeneous group, both politically and culturally. Political groups can be active within the HGAS if they have an anti-fascist stance. Today, the HAGS works as an organ of the student body of the C.v.O. Uni Ol. It is represented by a council consisting of five foreign fellow students. These are elected once a year, parallel to StuPa elections, in a convened HGAS general meeting and can be recalled at any time in a properly convened general meeting requested by at least 10% of the members of the HGAS with a simple majority of the votes cast.

Our Team

HGAS focusses on diversity and cooperation. Our team consists of 4 elected members with high social competence who are responsible for the support and counselling of international students

What does HGAS do?

The HGAS represents the interests of foreign students in all matters. Above all in matters relating to foreigners and work permits, but also in university policy issues specific to foreign students.
 

  • HGAS regularly advises and informs foreign students at Carl von Ossietzky University.

  • HGAS organises seminars and events on foreign policy issues.

  • HGAS supports foreign female students in their projects and events.

  • The interest group offers social counselling for foreign students and promotes relations between foreign and German students and citizens. 

  • For example, legal counselling is provided for foreign students. A lawyer advises foreign fellow students on various residence and labour law issues

bottom of page

top of page

Wir Sind HGAS

HGAS

HGAS verkürzt 'Hochschulgruppe ausländischer StudentInnen'

 

Die HGAS ist die Interessenvertretung aller ausländischen Studierenden an der Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg. Jede/r ausländischer Studierende wird durch Immatrikulation automatisch Mitglied der HGAS und hat die Möglichkeit, im Rahmen der HGAS verschiedene Veranstaltungen über die soziale, kulturelle und politische situation seines/ ihres Heimatlandes zu organisieren.

ASV

ASV verkürzt 'Ausländischer Studierendenvertreter'
 
Die ASV besteht aus gewählter Studierendenvertreter der HGAS, die die internationale Gemeinschaft bei verschiedenen themen unterstützen, z.b. bei der Organization von Veranstaltungen, Rechtsberaten, verteilen von wichtigen Informationen und weitere algemeine politische und soziale Angelegenheiten.

visitoraddresswhite.png
Besucheranschrift

Raum M1 - 164

Asta Foyer

Uhlhornsweg 49 -55

26129 Oldenburg

phone.png
mail.png

HGAS - Hochschulgruppe

ausländischer StudentInnen
Carl von Ossietzky Universität

Oldenburg
Ammerländer Heerstraße 114-118
26129 Oldenburg

Post Anschrift
postwhite.png

Geschichte des HGAS

​Die Hochschulgruppe enstand ein Jahr nach der Gründung der Uni Oldenburg als eine kleine ausl. Gruppe, die sich jeden Mittwoch im Monat traf. In dieser Gruppe lernten sich ausl. Studenten der Uni Oldenburg kennen und sprachen über ihre Problemen. Gemeinsam wurde dann versucht, bestehende Probleme zu bewältigen. 1976 betrug die Zahl der ausl. Studenten 33. ​ 1978 als sich ca. 90 ausl. Studenten an der Uni Ol. befanden, zeigte sich die Gruppe organisierter und engagierter, indem sie meherere Veranstaltungen (politisch, kulturell) durchführte. In diesem Jahr wurde der Gruppe durch neue räumliche Gegebenheite möglich, Termine zu betreung ausl. Kommilitonen/Innen zur Verfügungh zu stellen. Die Gruppe half den ausl. Kommilitonen bei Zimmersuche, Kommunikationen mit den anderen Deutschen und ausl. Mitstudenten/Innen, eventuellen einmaligen Zuschüssen, die der Gruppe seitens der Uni Ol. zur Verfügung gestellt wurden, Umgang mit Behörden aller Ämter. ​ 1980 wurde die Gruppe als eine Hochschulgruppe anerkannt.Die Hochschulgruppe der aulsländischer Studenten (HGAS) verstand sich als die Interessengruppe aller ausl. Studenten/Innen auf einer studiumbezogenen Ebene. Die Interessen der ausl. Kommilitonen wurden stets durch zwei gewählte Vertreter wahrgenommen.Dies Vertreter wurden einmal im Jahr gewählt und waren der HGAS rechenschaftspflichtig. ​ 1982 brachte die HGAS einen Antrag ins Studentenparlament zwecks Anerkennung der HGAS ale ein Organ der Studentenschaft an der C.v.O. Uni Ol. ​ Nach langwiriegen und harten Auseinandersetzungen mit MSB und SHB, die sich trotz der Zustimmung der Uni-VV von 6.5.1982 gegen die Durchsetzung des Antrags eingesezt haben, gelang es der HGAS, sich als ein Organ der Studentenschaft anerkennen zu lassen.(StuPa 27.04.1983). ​ HGAS ist eine sehr heterogene Gruppe sowohl politisch als auch kulturell. ​ Politische Gruppen können sich im Rahmen der HGAS betätigen, wenn sie ein antifaschistische Haltung vertreten. ​ Heute arbeitet die HAGS als ein Organ der Studentenschaft der C.v.O Uni Ol. Sie wird durch einen Rat vertreten, der aus fünf ausl. Kommilitonen/Innen besteht. Diese werden einmal im Jahr parallel zu StuPa-Wahlen, in einer einberufenen HGAS-VV gewählt und können jeder Zeit in einer von mindestens 10% der Mitglieder der HGAS beantragten, ordentlich einberufenen VV mit einfacher Mehrheit der abgegebenen Stimmen abgerufen werden.

Unser Team

Die HGAS setzt auf Vielfalt und Zusammenarbeit. Unser Team besteht aus 4 gewählten Mitgliedern mit hoher sozialer Kompetenz, die für die Betreuung und Beratung von internationalen Studierenden zuständig sind

Was Macht Die HGAS?

Die HGAS vertritt die Interessen der ausländischen Studirenden in allen Belangen. Vor allem in ausländer- und arbeitserlaubnisrechtlichen Fragen, aber auch in ausländerspezifischen hochschulpolitischen Fragen.

  • die HGAS berät und informiert regelmässig die ausländischen Studentinnen der Carl von Ossietzky Universität.

  • die HGAS veranstaltet Seminare und Veranstaltungen zu ausländerpolitischen Fragen.

  • die HGAS unterstützt ausländische Studentinnen bei Inhren Projekten bzw. Veranstatungen.

  • die Interessenvertretung bietet soziale Beratungen für ausländische Studierende an und fördert die Beziehungen zwischen ausländischen und deutschen Studierenden sowie Bürgerinnen. 

  • so wird z.B. eine Rechtsberatung für ausländische Studierende durchgeführt. Hierbei berät ein Rechtsanwalt ausländische Kommilitoninnen bei verschiedenen aufenthalts- und arbeitsrechtlichen Fragen

bottom of page